EU-Roaming

EU-Roaming Internet and mobile phone calls abroad

EU Roaming

EU roaming is relevant for the users of smartphones, mobile phones and tablets. Roaming charges are incurred for incoming and outgoing calls, SMS and MMS and for all Internet services: use, download or update apps, download websites and so on. Of course, even the most widely used applications like WhatsApp or Facebook are affected. From a technical and legal point of view, uniform EU roaming conditions apply in the 28 EU Member States as well as in Switzerland, Norway and in dwarf and city states such as Monaco or San Marino.

EU roaming charges

Regulation of roaming charges in the EU has so far failed because of the opposition of the big telephone companies. With the now adopted EU decision, the cost structure will be harmonized throughout Europe for the first time. Until 15 June 2017, the roaming charges will be canceled. As an intermediate step, the first cost reductions and new regulations will enter into force on 01.05.2016. The receipt of SMS in other EU countries is already free of charge.

Abolition of roaming charges from June 2017

However, there are two limitations as of June 2017:
Mobile operators may continue to charge roaming surcharges to end users if the user exceeds a limit to be determined (fair use limit). With this measure, on the one hand, a misuse and the permanent roaming, for example, the purchase of a cheaper SIM card abroad and use of this SIM card in Germany or if the customer is permanently abroad, but one in his and for his Home country completed contract uses, be prevented. On the other hand, mobile operators may be subject to surcharges where they can demonstrably not cover their costs of providing regulated roaming services and can demonstrate that this has an impact on domestic prices. If such evidence has been provided by a mobile telecommunications provider, the national regulatory authorities may, upon application, allow the relevant mobile operator to charge surcharges for cost recovery exceptionally.

The EU Commission is currently working on the corresponding regulations for the so-called fair use limit. These should be set by 15/12/2016 and be associated with corresponding transparency requirements for end-users. With effect from 15 June 2017, regulated EU roaming services are expected to cost the same - up to a certain limit - as domestic.

If mobile operators do not make use of this option within the scope of their regulated tariffs, their end customers can fully use their domestic tariff abroad as well.

EU-Roaming

EU-Roaming Internet und mobil telefonieren im Ausland

EU-Roaming

EU Roaming ist relevant für die Nutzer von Smartphones, Handys und Tablets. Roaming-Gebühren fallen an, für die ein- und ausgehende Anrufe, SMS und MMS und für sämtliche Internetdienste: Nutzung, Downloaden oder Aktualisierung von Apps, Laden von Internetseiten und so weiter. Natürlich sind auch die besonders vielgenutzten Anwendungen wie WhatsApp oder Facebook betroffen. Technisch und rechtlich gesehen bestehen einheitliche EU Roaming Bedingungen in den 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten sowie in der Schweiz, Norwegen und in Zwerg- und Stadtstaaten wie Monaco oder San Marino.

EU-Roaming Gebühren

Eine Regulierung der Roaming-Gebühren in der EU scheiterte bislang am Widerstand der großen Telefonkonzerne. Mit dem nun gefassten EU-Beschluss wird erstmals europaweit die Kostenstruktur harmonisiert. Bis zum 15.Juni 2017 sollen die Roaming-Gebühren entfallen. Als Zwischenschritt werden zum 01.05.2016 die ersten Kostensenkungen und Neuregelungen in Kraft treten. Der Empfang von SMS im EU-Ausland ist schon jetzt kostenfrei.

Abschaffung der Roaminggebühren ab Juni 2017

Zwei Einschränkungen soll es ab Juni 2017 jedoch geben:
Die Mobilfunkanbieter können Endkunden weiterhin Roamingaufschläge in Rechnung stellen, sofern der Nutzer eine noch festzulegende Grenze (Fair-Use-Grenze) überschreitet. Mit dieser Maßnahme soll zum einen eine missbräuchliche Nutzung und das Dauer-Roaming, beispielsweise der Kauf einer günstigeren SIM-Karte im Ausland und Nutzung dieser SIM-Karte im Inland oder wenn der Kunde sich dauerhaft im Ausland aufhält, aber einen in seinem und für sein Heimatland abgeschlossenen Vertrag nutzt, unterbunden werden. Zum anderen können von Mobilfunkbetreibern Aufschläge erhoben werden, wenn diese ihre Kosten zur Bereitstellung regulierter Roamingdienste nachweislich nicht decken können und nachweisen, dass sich dies auf die Inlandspreise auswirkt. Sofern ein solcher Nachweis durch einen Mobilfunkanbieter erbracht wurde, können die nationalen Regulierungsbehörden dem entsprechenden Mobilfunkanbieter auf Antrag gestatten, ausnahmsweise zur Kostendeckung entsprechende Aufschläge zu erheben.

Die EU-Kommission arbeitet derzeit an den entsprechenden Regelungen für die sog. Fair-Use-Grenze. Diese sollen bis zum 15.12.2016 festgelegt werden und für die Endnutzer mit entsprechenden Transparenzanforderungen verbunden sein. Damit sollen regulierte EU-Roamingdienste ab dem 15. Juni 2017 - bis zu einer gewissen Grenze - genauso viel kosten wie im Inland.

Sollten Mobilfunkbetreiber von dieser Möglichkeit im Rahmen ihrer regulierten Tarife keinen Gebrauch machen, so können deren Endkunden uneingeschränkt ihren inländischen Tarif auch im Ausland nutzen.